Paleo Buffalo Chicken Soup

Last night I must’ve known that today was going to be a hectic, long day.  I say this because I told myself, make a crock-pot dinner tomorrow morning before work – and I am SO thankful I did.  I got this recipe from someone I follow on instagram – and her website is actually: http://paleonadime.blogspot.com.  I tweaked the recipe a bit, and am really happy with how it turned out.  However, I did add corn which is not paleo; therefor this version is paleoish! 😛

Recipe:

1 lb chicken breast (diced or shredded – your preference)

1.5 cups carrots (I sliced full carrots but you could use baby carrots)

1 diced sweet potato 

4 cloves minced garlic

1 diced onion

2 cups chicken broth

1/2 – 3/4 cup hot sauce (Use as little or as much as you like depending on your preference)

1 can(15 0z)/cup diced tomato

1 can (15 oz) tomato sauce 

1 can (15 oz) white kidney beans

2 tbsp chili powder

1 tbsp cumin

1 tbsp paprika

Salt / Pepper to taste

Mix all of these together in your crock pot; cook on low for 8-10 hours, or high for 4-6 hours.
I actually cooked mine on low for 6 hours and it was fully cooked & the veggies were soft.
buff1 buff2 buff3
Keep in mind that if you don’t like some of the veggies or other ingredients in here – you can either A) substitute ingredients OR B) simply not include them.  The original recipe called for 2 ribs of celery, sliced.  However, I don’t like celery so I omitted it.  One of my favorite parts of cooking is tweaking the recipe to make it a little different each time – so don’t be afraid to alter recipes and try new things!!
Leave a Reply

